Keto Food Questions

I want to do keto, but I am dairy-free. What are some dairy-free tips for keto?

Many people want to avoid dairy due to allergies or because they are lactose-intolerant.

Dairy-free keto ideas include coconut oil, coconut milk, coconut cream, nuts and nut butters, avocado, olives and/or olives, animal fat and ghee.

You may want to try dairy products that are grass-fed and organic to see if you tolerate them. But be sure to avoid processed cheese like Velveeta, which is filled with unhealthy ingredients.

Ghee, also called clarified butter, is included here even though strictly speaking it’s dairy. But ghee has the milk solids removed, leaving only the fat, which you may be able to eat. If you can’t, don’t worry about it. As you see, there are numerous alternatives.

If you’re sensitive to nuts in addition to adhering to dairy-free eating, that complicates things. You’ll have to remove nuts and nut butter from your list of healthy fats. And if you’re not eating dairy, can’t eat nuts, and you are vegan, that really limits your options for healthy fat. However, there are always substitutes. You just have to get creative to be sure you get the correct amount of healthy fat when you’re on keto.

Don’t worry if you avoid dairy. You can be successful on the keto diet by using viable substitutes.

Last updated: Nov 15, 2023 00:29 AM