Keto Food Questions

What If I don't consume dairy on Keto - do you have any tips?

I’m going to tell you how to do the keto diet while remaining dairy-free, for those of you who are lactose intolerant or have an allergy to the proteins in dairy. You may also be sensitive to the quality of the dairy since dairy products can contain hormones or come from animals fed with genetically-modified grains.

I personally do well with raw-milk cheese that’s grass-fed and organic. You may want to try dairy products that are grass-fed and organic to see if you tolerate them. Be sure to avoid processed cheese like Velveeta, which is filled with unhealthy ingredients.

If you truly need to adhere to dairy-free eating, there are several healthy alternatives that are totally acceptable on keto. They are coconut products, nuts, and nut butter, olive products and avocados, animal fat, and ghee.

I included ghee, also called clarified butter, even though strictly speaking it’s dairy. But ghee has the milk solids removed, leaving only the fat, which you may be able to eat. If you can’t, don’t worry about it. As you see, there are numerous alternatives.

If you’re sensitive to nuts in addition to adhering to dairy-free eating, that complicates things. You have to remove nuts and nut butter as healthy fats. And if you’re not eating dairy, can’t eat nuts, and are vegan, that really limits your options for healthy fat. However, there are always substitutes. You just have to get creative to be sure you get the correct amount of healthy fat when you’re on keto.

Don’t worry if you avoid dairy. You can be successful on the keto diet by using viable substitutes.

Last updated: Dec 25, 2023 15:06 PM